Georgia O’Keeffe Museum Challenge

I was at the Georgia O’Keeffe museum in January and really enjoyed all the exhibits. I like the sculptures she did quite a bit as well as her 2D works.

Close-up I shot of her sculpture.

Close-up I shot of her sculpture.

Georgia O'Keeffe's beautiful sculpture

Georgia O’Keeffe’s beautiful sculpture

The museum was offering a challenge to people to abstract the abstract sculpture. All you had to do was take a picture and send it to their Instagram account. Not that easy as it assumes everyone has a smart phone with Data. I don’t as its an economic decision on my part.

But that didn’t stop me from being inspired and creating my own abstractions. I shot a cool photo of the shadow of the sculpture.

Shadow of the abstract sculpture

Shadow of the abstract sculpture

Then I decided to do a painting of the shadow. I used black and white paints only for this one.

My abstraction of the photo I took.

My abstraction of the photo I took.

I then used Photoshop to adjust the colors of the photo. I made 3 copies using primary colors. I did 3 more paintings of the shadows using colors this time.bluegoabstration yellowgoabstration redgoabstration

They turned out very interesting and beautiful. I enjoyed the process a lot. As I painted I was thinking that I was painting a realistic photo of an abstract sculpture using a realistic style of painting but it was turning out to be abstract art. Deep huh …!? I just like the depth and movement of the shadow photo.

Now to sell some paintings so I can afford to have a data plan on my phone!

Leave a Reply

