DIY Workshop “How to See Color and Paint it” by Arthur Stern, installment 6, final

Today I resolved to finish the exercises in this workshop. I skipped several because I felt they were too fundamental and I already had experience with the subjects selected for the exercises. I want to get back to painting subjects that I am passionate about. Be that wrong or right, I had 2 more subjects I wanted to tackle, painting clear glass holding  water and painting colored glass.

This is the set up for the clear glass jar.

This is the set up for the clear glass jar.

The clear glass was a mason jar without any embossing on it and the colored glass was a beer bottle my husband so helpfully emptied and cleaned the label off. I used the suggested colors for the clear glass on the sides of the set up box and found it was very intriguing to paint all the colors that were there. The glass was filled halfway with water as an added lesson – painting water. I noticed that the colors shifted depending on which eye I was looking out of. That made me commit to using one eye’s view and was a lot easier from then on. I used the bigger palette knife I’d been using throughout this workshop but switched to a worn out, tiny pointed one I found in my paint box. I think it turned out satisfactory. I read Stern’s text and was able to evaluate what I painted to see if it met the criteria set for success.

This is the set up for the clear glass painting.

This is the set up for the clear glass painting.

I decided to use brushes instead of a palette knife in the last exercise of painting a colored bottle. The exercise was in the section of additional projects after you finish the exercises.

This is the set up for the clear colored glass painting.

This is the set up for the clear colored glass painting.

I liked how the brown colored bottle was set on orange colored paper that coordinated well with the bottle’s colors. I used the complimentary color of orange, blue, for one of the walls. I used black for the other because I felt it would adsorb a lot of the reflected light from the floor and other wall, not reflect a lot of color and light back on the bottle or other surfaces and not be as distracting as another color. I enjoyed painting with a brush. I used 2 brushes, a big, #14, brush and a smaller, #6, brush plus the palette knife to do the mixing and a bit of the painting on the larger background areas. I am happy with my results.

This is the completed colored glass painting - an empty beer bottle.

This is the completed colored glass painting – an empty beer bottle.

In this workshop I learned a few things. I thought a list to be a good way to lay them out, so here goes.

  • I have the fortitude to follow through on a project that became boring and tedious part of the way through.
  • I learned to refine my eye to see color that is really there.
  • I gained confidence with my color “seeing”
  • I am more confident in being able to transfer the little lessons I learned to my Plein Air painting. One example: I can use the skills from painting glass to transfer to painting water.
  • I know I don’t like painting with a palette knife as I had wondered if that was another way to express myself.
Leave a Reply

