DIY Workshop “How to See Color and Paint it” by Arthur Stern, installment 4

This blog is a report of the continuation of my workshop “How to See Color and Paint it” by Arthur Stern.

Set up and painting

Set up and painting

2 colored cube

2 colored cube

The next exercise involved painting another cube, white, but this one had a rectangle of black in the center of each face. The walls and floor of the set-up box changed color. Again, its designed to get the artist’s eye to see all the colors there, not just the ones that you think are there, like “white” or “black”. It reminded me of Kevin Mcpherson’s book “Fill Your Oil Paintings With Light and Color” when he talks about finding the spots of color in the landscape.

White cloth

White cloth

After that exercise, I hung up a white cloth with different color sheets of construction paper in the set-up box. The light source also moves around for each exercise. This one was the most challenging so far. I am not having a hard time finding the colors but finding patience to do the exercises.

Set up for white cloth painting

Set up for white cloth painting

I keep saying to myself that I could be doing something else, something that has real value. Such as painting a subject that I love and could also possibly sell. I’m thinking that I am wasting not only time but money on the cheap paints I bought when I could have bought a lovely tube of some color that I have been coveting. Our brains really like to sabotage us when we are inserting change! Its really interesting.

Leave a Reply

