DIY Workshop “How to See Color and Paint it” by Arthur Stern, installment 2

The set-up box painting

The set-up box painting

The first exercise in my workshop “How to See Color and Paint it” by Arthur Stern was using the set-up box, It was pretty simple. It just involved painting the set-up box with 3 different sheets of construction paper clipped in place. It wasn’t very exciting and I think because I am always looking at color when I paint it went really easy. I find that when I am driving around going somewhere I look at the colors of the landscape and name them in paint colors. An example would be when I look at the shadow of the snow along the roadside, I say, “Hey that is Ultramarine blue in that ditch. And the sunny snow has Cadmium Yellow Lemon along the top mixed with a touch of purple (hum that would be Ultramarine blue and Red Iron Oxide mixed together with a lot of Titanium white) right under that spot.” I hope the exercises get more challenging.

The next exercise in “How to See Color and Paint it” by Arthur Stern was to paint an orange. I had a Mandarin orange in the fridge so I set to it! I did Statement 1 for this painting. I think it accomplished what it was supposed to do, show me the planes of color in a simple manner.

Orange painting with the orange.

Orange painting with the orange.

 

Leave a Reply

