Plein Air Convention, days 3 and 4

I attended the Plein Air Magazine’s Plein Air Convention 2016 in Tuscon AZ from April 14-19. The following blog is about the third and fourth days.

The third day we had a paint-out on the grounds of the resort where the convention was held. I was painting with about 200 other people around me. Yikes! It was close and somewhat of a mad house. I managed to get a piece done but struggled with it.

My Plein Air set up at Catalina State Park

My Plein Air set up at Catalina State Park

Catalina State Park Saguaro painting.

Catalina State Park Saguaro painting.

The fourth day we painted at Catalina State Park and I decided to go up a wash, being curious and it wanting to spread out. It was about 0.2 mile from the parking lot. I never saw anyone else for about 2 hours, although I did hear a couple people just over the little ridge I was under. After the first painting, Sue & Bob showed up, with Sue’s husband Jack assisting in schlepping stuff plus busy photographing away. The 3 of us painters got another painting done as the sun was setting. It was lovely! But we didn’t see anyone until we got to the beginning of the park and there were several hundred people all crammed near their cars in a big parking lot, painting or packing up. I just didn’t understand why they weren’t curious about the park and head out with their plein air gear to paint. And I never did see any faculty who were supposed to be making the rounds to help us. I even posted my little sign requesting a faculty stop. Maybe I’m just on the road less traveled?

Jack, Bob & Sue at Catalina State Park

Jack, Bob & Sue at Catalina State Park

Bob & Sue at Catalina State Park

Bob & Sue at Catalina State Park

Leave a Reply

