Post Surgery Painting #3

Monument Valley Clouds

This little oil has a lot in it. 9″ x 12″

I finished this Post Surgery Painting #3 and feel really good about it. I went to a bigger size canvas – 9″ x 12″ – because tiny was so limiting (see Post Surgery Painting #2). My subject matter was so busy that a small format would do it no justice. Even this size is too small, but I can always do a bigger one later on.

Again I worked on remembering all the info that I have learned about landscape paintings. I keep hearing all the tips and advice from artists who’s workshops I have taken. Especially Dave Santillanes! He had great advice for us when he was teaching us this past summer. I also keep hearing my friend, Sue McKelvy, and her great teaching and advice she’s given me over the years.

This painting is from a photo taken by Sue in Monument Valley. It was such a lovely vista that I wanted to paint it. The only thing that would have made it better was to be there in person with my easel all set up and ready to go.

I think this little painting turned out well. My shoulder and arm are not as sore as from #2 and I was able to keep on with my day. I’m getting ready for the Plein Air Convention 2016 in Tuscon and feel I’ll have the stamina to paint a bit each day. Until then…..!

One thought on “Post Surgery Painting #3

Leave a Reply

