Post Surgery painting #2

Monument Valley Juniper

Tiny painting from a photo take by my friend, Sue McKelvy. 5″ x 7″

I attempted to paint again, about 10 weeks after my shoulder surgery. The first painting (See Post Surgery Painting,  April 6, 2016) I did turned out well so I thought I’d give it another go.  This time I used an image my friend, Sue McKelvy, had taken on a trip she and her husband took to Monument Valley. They rode their horses around (with a guide) for over a week and took lots of great images home. I liked the juniper tree and the angle of the slope it is growing on.

I used a very tiny canvas, 5″ x 7″, as I didn’t want to go too big and tire out my shoulder and arm. I did feel a bit constrained by the small size but it was a good exercise. I practiced remembering composition, value and color techniques. I was afraid the things that had become second nature to me were lost in the fuzzy recesses of my brain. But those artistic skills are still there, whew!

After I did this painting, my arm was so tired and my shoulder was aching. I had to do nothing for the next day and recuperate. But I’m glad I did it and won’t stop now!!!

One thought on “Post Surgery painting #2

  1. Pingback: Post Surgery Painting #3 | Cedar Keshet's Art

Leave a Reply

