A Month on Retreat

Morning Walk

Morning Walk, Oil, 11″ x 14″

This month I am on retreat at my friends house in the mountains on the Front Range. I’m about an hour from Denver and don’t feel like going into the hub bub of civilization if I can avoid it. I am house/dog/horse/cat sitting for them while they are on a family vacation. As you can see from the above painting, I take the dogs for a walk on a very scenic road every morning.

I am painting, both in the studio and plein air. The following painting is the plein air study for the one that follows. I went to Morrison with my friend before she left and met up with her plein air painting pals on a warm Sunday morning.

Study for Bear Meadow

Study for Bear Meadow, Oil, 8″ x 10″     

Plein Air in Bear Meadow

Plein Air in Bear Meadow, Oil, 11″ x 14″

I also used this time to refine other plein air studies I did near my home in Paonia. This one is of the confluence of the North Fork and the Gunnison Rivers at a place named the Pleasure Park. Odd name for a riparian area in a desert environment but its a nice place to paint as well as a Gold Medal Stream for fishing.

Confluence Cliffs

Confluence Cliffs, Oil 9″ x 12″

I am still here for a little while longer, so I hope to be productive and creative. I always enjoy myself, especially while painting.

Leave a Reply

