Plein Air and more oil paintings

River Park Winter, plein air oil, 6" x 8", $100

River Park Winter, plein air oil, 6″ x 8″, $100

This painting was done in February at the Paonia River Park. It was a cold overcast day and the trees and water were beautiful!

Canyon Cliff, plein air oil, 8" x 10", $100

Canyon Cliff, plein air oil, 8″ x 10″, $100

This little plein air canvas was done in March in Escalante Creek Canyon near Delta, CO. I went on the training with West Elk Mountain Rescue. I’m the secretary but I don’t rock climb, so I brought my paints while the rest of the team practiced rope and climbing skills. It was great not to have to wear lots of warm outer wear as the weather was sunny and in the 60’s that day.

Descending Storm, oil, 18" x24", $250

Descending Storm, oil, 18″ x24″, $250

I’ve been working on this painting for a while and finally feel its as good as its going to get. I have a bad habit of overworking my paintings and I’m practicing not doing that. Not easy, like wanting to eat the last yummy chocolate in the box even though its supposed to be for your little sister…..! But I’m getting better at it.

One thought on “Plein Air and more oil paintings

Leave a Reply

