Painting and the Hardy Artist

Cerro Perdanal, far away

Cerro Perdanal, far away

I recently returned from a painting trip to Taos, NM. I was planning on several full days of painting and actually painted more than I thought I would, considering the weather. This trip confirmed that I am “hardy”. I was rained, sleeted, snowed and grappled on. I was blown and sand-stormed on. And a dust devil took my umbrella on a wild swirling trip up into the sky and over a gallery where I was parking to paint the mountains. While I was running around swirling on the ground trying to catch it. It was unharmed, whew! Most days I retreated to the front passenger seat of my truck and painted there. I am glad I brought my snow pants and wool socks!

Threatening sky over Taos Mountain

Threatening sky over Taos Mountain

I met several great artists and painted with one in Pilar. That was the lovely morning of sun and calm skies. It was great and I plan to get a lot more paintings from the photos I took and the plein air sketches I did (most full of dirt and plant stuff). I also learned a lot about myself and how I can be a determined person and follow through on small goals which will lead to bigger ones.

Plein air painting in Pilar

Plein air painting in Pilar

Leave a Reply

