Plein air paint out near the Colorado Monument N.P.

 

 

My painting in progress....

My painting in progress….

Yesterday I met up with the PAAC western slope group in Grand Junction right near the Colorado Monument National Park. The red rock cliffs had the morning shadows enriching them when we arrived. It was a great view with a major panorama of cliffs stretching for miles. In the distance the snow capped Book Cliffs in Utah were a beautiful backdrop.

Indeed it was chilly when we first got there but as the day progressed, we shed our layers of wind pants and heavy jackets. The wind stayed calm and the sun bright. We had an impromptu critique after lunch before most of the people took off. I got one painting well under way and a second little one sketched in. It was really productive and a great time.

TovaPleinAir

My set up with my assistant trying to get in the shade of my easel.

Next week we meet in Paonia at the River Park on Thursday March 12 at 9 a.m. I keeping my fingers crossed for good weather.

One thought on “Plein air paint out near the Colorado Monument N.P.

Leave a Reply

