Reading John Carlson

I’ve been reading John F. Carlson’s Elementary Principles of Landscape Painting. It an old book from 1928.

DSCF0007

But its filled with great basic information on putting together a good landscape painting. I keep getting reminded by Mr. Carlson of the things about composition and color that I’ve either forgotten I learned long ago or that I remember I learned but have been ignoring. That is helping me grow as an artist.

This book is filled with really old-fashioned sayings. For example he starts a sentence with Yea! Anon… when he just talked about doing a technique. I figured out it wasn’t Shakespeare but him saying something like ‘Let’s go now’. Which was pretty close. Anon means right away.

DSCF0006Here I am reading and taking notes. I know this book has already helped me by reminding me of what I learned about painting and have been ignoring.

Leave a Reply

