en Plein Air painting.

I love going outside and painting! Its just as great (sometimes better) than working in the studio.

 

En plein air (French pronunciation: ​[ɑ̃ plɛn ɛʁ]) is a French expression which means “in the open air” and is particularly used to describe the act of painting outdoors, which is also called peinture sur le motif (“painting on the ground”) in French.

I currently have a little watercolor field kit and schlep stuff in a box. I have taken a sketch pad with pencils in a zip-lock bag and put it in my saddle bag when riding and I know there will be time to sketch. I am hoping to have better gear soon!

Here is me and my dog, Tova, on a painting trip about an hour from my house.

Plein Air

My dog, Tova, and I along the Gunnison River in Delta County, CO. She keeps an eye out for me when I am engrossed in painting.

 

Leave a Reply

